Why we Cancel Church on Easter (Part 2)

It was a beautiful day in downtown Austin. It’s amazing to be a part of a church and an Easter service where literally everyone who came… came to serve others. Here’s a glimpse at what the day looked like. Take the time to watch to the end so you can see the still shots (my favorite part).

It was an incredible moment to remember together that the one who was resurrected is also the one who resurrects. He resurrects lives, He resurrects marriages, and He resurrects hope. As a pastor, I gain incredible joy watching people get out of their skin to do something for someone in need. It’s almost as if you can see them changing right before your eyes. Today lives were changed. Hope was resurrected. And I believe Jesus was Glorified. As Christ followers we must believe and do our best to live the words of Jesus:

‘For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’

“Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink?  When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’

“The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’ – Matthew 25:35-40

About Brandon Hatmaker

Church Planter, Missional Strategist, Non-Profit Collaborator, and Author of "Barefoot Church: Serving the Least in a Consumer Culture". View all posts by Brandon Hatmaker

3 responses to “Why we Cancel Church on Easter (Part 2)

  • Kevin Meyer

    Brandon, what an incredible display of ministry in action. Not just talking about it, but actually putting feet to it. I had a question. We’ve recently started having ‘block-parties’, where our church cooks hamburgers and hot-dogs for the neighborhood. Just to serve, with no agenda other than to get to know people. How, have you found, is the best way to get the word out?

    • Brandon Hatmaker

      Kevin, we haven’t really done any church wide block parties in our neighborhoods. The “event” type projects we have are mostly in serving through the channel of non-profits who already have relationships within our city. We serve giving the org we partner with credit, not our church. Our more “missional” type efforts we call “love your neighbor” (which I think is what you’re talking about) are done through missional community on a smaller scale, and not as church-wide projects, but more as neighbors. We simply invite those we know who might consider it good news to come. We just want to be a blessing with no agenda.

Leave a Reply

